Conference for Food Protection 2008-2010 Executive Board Meeting Committee Update – August 26, 2008

Food Managers Training, Testing and Certification Committee Report

July 26, 2008

Submitted by Committee Chair Joyce Jensen, REHS, CP-FS

Committee Charges:

- 1) To continue working with the CFP Executive Board and the American National Standards Institute (ANSI)-CFP Accreditation Committee (ACAC) to maintain the standards in an up-to-date format.
- 2) To evaluate Annex B Section B3 to consider incorporating the training recommendations suggested by the committee as shown below.

Annex B Section B3: Qualifications for Certification. In order to become a Certified Food Protection Manager an individual must pass a food safety certification examination from an accredited certifying program recognized by the CFP. To prepare for certification, it is recommended that the individual obtain training based on the content of the areas of knowledge prescribed in Paragraph 2-102.11 (C) of the FDA Food Code and content outlined based on job task analyses developed by accredited certifications.

I would like to include a third charge, to propose revisions to the FMTTC Committee By-Laws. The Committee's activities and functions have evolved significantly since the development of the Standards and the implementation of the accreditation process. So much great work was needed to get where we are, but now the function is more maintenance than development. Training Providers, who are not referenced in the current By-Laws, need to be included as a designated Committee constituency.

Proposed Committee Members, Constituency and Contact Information

Chair Joyce Jensen	Lincoln-Lancaster Co. HD (NE)	Local Regulatory	402-441-8033
Vice Chair Jeff Hawley	Harris Teeter	Industry-Retail	704-844-3098

Regulatory - 10

State Regulatory - 3		
Hale, Aggie	Florida Department of Agriculture	805-245-5549
Guzzle, Patrick	Idaho Department of Health	208-334-5938
LaCasse, Mary Lou	New Mexico Environment Department	505-476-8608

Local Regulatory - 3

Everly, Vicki	Santa Clara County Health Department (CA)	408-918-3490
Lee, Teresa	City of Missouri City (TX)	281-403-8557
Mitchell-Baker, Cassandra	Fairfax County Health Department (VA)	703-246-8438

Hodges, Lynn	USDA, Off. of Education and Employee Training	9712-937-7519
Moore, Veronica	FDA	
USDA Alternate Hicks, John	USDA/FSIS, Policy, Prog. & Employment Dev.	202-205-0210

At Large Regulatory - 2

Carotenuto, Tony	Navy/Marine Corps Public Health (Federal)	757-953-0712
Welch, Patricia	Illinois Department of Public Health (State)	217-782-4345

Industry - 10

Food Service Industry - 4

Nessel, Nancy	Yum Brands	502-874-8493
Davis, Douglas	Marriott International	301-380-5736
Quam, Susan	Wisconsin Restaurant Association	608-270-9950
Luebkemann, Geoff	Florida Restaurant & Lodging Association	850-224-2250

Retail Industry - 4

Pasley, Dianna	Schnuck Markets	314-994-4346
Rossow, Todd	Publix	863-688-1188
McMahan, Thomas	Albertson's	321-436-8401
Wood, Sharon	H-E-B	210-938-6511

At Large Industry - 2

Roughan, George	TAP Series	818-889-8799
Vear, Bill	Mindlenders	800-223-3732

Certification Providers - 4

Lynch, Larry	National Registry	800-446-0257
Piche, Kate	National Rest. Association Solutions	312-261-5384
Open	Prometric	-

Open

Academia - 2

McSwane, David	Indiana University	317-274-2918
Albrecht, Julie	University of Nebraska	402-472-8884

Consumer/Independent - 2

Woodley, Cindy	Professional Testing	407-264-2993
Hollenbeck, Christine	NEHA	303-756-9090
Alternate for CW-Cox, David	Professional Testing	407-352-3830

Progress Report

Contact was made by email to the 47 individuals who had an interest in participating on the FMTTC Committee to verify that they were able to serve if selected. Of the 17 previous members originally interested, 14 were able to commit to another term on the committee, leaving 16 new members to be selected. Potential new members were given

an overview of the committee responsibilities and a summary of the proposed commitment for meetings. If they were still interested in serving they were asked to include in their response a brief paragraph about themselves, who they represent, and what can they bring to the committee.

Chair Joyce Jensen and Vice Chair Select Jeff Hawley reviewed the responses and made the committee membership selection based on the FMTTC Committee By-laws.

Only two providers with ANSI/CFP accreditation had indicated interest in participating on the Committee. Chair Joyce Jensen attempted to contact the third provider, Prometric. As of July 26, a representative from this organization willing to serve on the committee has not been identified. Therefore there are two vacancies on the committee representing certification providers.

A conference call will be scheduled for September with the selection of work group members and work group assignments. The standing work groups are Logistics, Standards, Education, and Communication. In addition, a By-Laws work group will be formed. A face-to-face meeting will be scheduled for the fall 2008 with a follow up faceto-face meeting, if needed, in early 2009. Additional meetings will be scheduled as required.

Joyce Jensen and Dr. Roy Swift will work with CFP staff to assure that the Standards are revised based on the outcome of the 2008 CFP and then posted on the CFP website.

Requested Board (or other) actions:

To accept this report and to approve the selection of Vice Chair and Committee Members as listed above.